CHECKING IN: Calypso, Tiffany, and more!

It’s been a busy week! I’ve finally started a good portion of my filming.

Last Friday, I shot footage of Calypso, the famous Bangkok ladyboy cabaret, which Lady Gaga also went to when she was here.

  

This past weekend I also did an extended interview of my good friend Ploy, who is shaping up to be one of the main characters in my project:

 

And then it was off to Pattaya (which is Thai’s version of Vegas meets Miami/Hawaii), to go backstage with the ladyboys of Tiffany Show, the glitziest cabaret I’ve ever seen!

 

Interviews with the performers backstage were interesting– I’m slowly becoming less and less satisfied with the famous “Thai Smile.” It seems like the same old story…After a bit more prodding, I began to see a glimmer of something more sincere. And that can be really heartening.

Coming soon: A trailer! So long as I get my shit together. :)

About Vivienne Chen

Vivienne Chen is a freelance journalist, blogger, fiction/poetry writer, English and Gender studies major at Princeton University, and activist for sexual freedom and LGBT equality. She is also a member of the University Press Club, and blogs at UniversityPressClub.com.

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Info. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

